Vegetarian diets have been becoming increasingly popular over the past few years. Rising meat production costs, and health-conscious attitudes of people, contribute to the increasing popularity of these plant-based diet options. The diets are available in many different forms. Shared below is a list of five of those.
Ovo-Lacto Vegetarian Diet
This diet comprises mostly of plant food items, alongside a few animal derivatives like dairy products and eggs. Fruits, grains, vegetables, seeds, herbs, nuts, roots, fungi, cheese, milk, eggs and yogurt are all a part of the diet. People who follow it are usually referred to as eggetarians.
No animal derivative except eggs is a part of this particular diet. The diet is ideal for every person who wishes to become a vegetarian and is sensitive or allergic to dairy products. The diet cannot have poultry, fish, meat, or dairy items such as milk, yogurt, and cheese. On the other hand, it can have eggs as well as the products based on these, such as mayonnaise and noodles to name two.
You may think of it as a variety of casual vegetarianism. The diet mostly includes plant food items, and you can add the odd meat dish to it. Following the diet can increase your plant-based food intake in a way that does not fully eliminate meat. The diet can make your health better, plus it is thought to help reduce the carbon footprint.
Both vegan and plant-based diets are not necessarily the same. Anyhow, people often use the terms ‘plant-based’ and ‘vegan’ to describe the same diet.
Think of it as a diet based on plant food items but without any animal derivative. It is a form of a vegetarian diet. Anyhow, the above does not mean that all vegetarian diets are vegan-friendly. Vegetarianism and veganism are not the same concepts, either. Vegetarians can use non-food animal derivatives, like leather footwear and fur clothing. Conversely, vegans should not eat or otherwise use any product derived from animals/animal parts.
Whole grains, legumes, nuts, healthy fats, fresh produce, and seafood are all a part of the diet. Pescatarians should not consume any form of meat except for fish and alternative sea animals’ tissue. Several pescatarians also have dairy goods and eggs. Seafood is their main source of protein. In other words, a pescatarian gets most of their protein from sea animal-based food items.