Some Foods That Might Not Be Vegan

Plant-Based Food
Plant-Based Food
Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet

If you are on a vegan diet, you should be careful about your food choices. The ingredients that are used in the making of a food item decide whether it is vegan or non-vegan. But is that the only factor that influences the type of a food item? No, the substances used at different stages of its manufacturing also decide if it is vegan or non-vegan. If an animal-derived substance is used at some stage of manufacturing a food item, it will be regarded as non-vegan even if the animal-derived ingredient does not end up in the final product.

In this article, we list a few foods and beverages that might not be vegan:

Beer 

Although most commercial beers are vegan, non-vegan varieties are also available. The four primary ingredients that are used to make beer are water, yeast, grains (wheat or barley), and hops- a flower that gives beer its characteristic bitter taste. Beer made of the aforementioned ingredients alone is certainly vegan.

However, some breweries add ingredients like isinglass and gelatin as fining agents. Sometimes whey, honey, and lactose are added to beer. All of the ingredients are non-vegan. Hence beer containing them is non-vegan.

White Sugar

Although sugar is obtained from plants, all varieties are not vegan. Some brands use bone char to bleach the sugar. They are non-vegan. Sometimes brown sugar could also be processed the same way as white sugar before molasses are added to it to make it look brown. In that case, it also becomes non-vegan.

Go for beet sugar or organic white sugar. They are not processed using bone char.

Vitamin D Fortified Foods 

Vegan diets if not planned well might lack vitamin D. The sun is a natural source of vitamin D. Spending a few minutes in the sun two times a week would be enough to meet the vitamin D requirements of our body. However, the solution is not feasible to all due to the limitations caused by the geographical location and climate.

Vegans that lack vitamin D are often instructed to take vitamin D fortified foods or supplements. However, the vitamin D might be obtained from lanolin, derived from sheep’s wool. Hence the solution is not suitable for vegans. As vegan sources of vitamin D like lichen are available, vegans can take vitamin D fortified foods and supplements making sure that the vitamin is derived from purely vegan sources.